The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced that 15 films (out of the 145 films submitted) in the Documentary Feature category will advance in the voting process for the 89th Academy Awards®. Our FF2 Media has screened and reviewed each documentary by a female filmmaker.

Congratulations to Cameraperson (Kirsten Johnson, Big Mouth Productions), Hooligan Sparrow (Nanfu Wang, Little Horse Crossing the River), 13th (Ava DuVernay, Forward Movement) and Weiner (Elyse Steinberg, Edgeline Films).

To read more about the 49 female filmmakers invited to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, click HERE.

© Brigid K. Presecky (12/6/16) FF2 Media

Photo Credit: Forward Movement

Tags: #OscarsSoWhite, 13th, AMPAS, Ava DuVernay, Cameraperson, Documentaries, Female Filmmakers, FF2 Media, Hooligan Sparrow, Kirsten Johnson, Make Oscar Gold, Nanfu Wang, Stop Blue Oscar, Weiner

Related Posts

Brigid Presecky began her career in journalism at Chicago's Goodman Theatre. In 2008, she joined FF2 Media as a part-time film critic and multimedia editor. Receiving her Bachelor of Arts degree in Communications from Bradley University, she moved to Los Angeles where she worked in development, production and publicity for Berlanti Productions, Entertainment Tonight and Warner Bros. Studios, respectively. Returning to her journalistic roots in Chicago, she is now a member of the Chicago Film Critics Association and certified Rotten Tomatoes Film Critic.
Previous Post Next Post